3 African countries could play host to Russian diplomatic missions

A report by the Russian news publication Sputnik revealed that Russia plans to open diplomatic missions in a few African countries. This information was relayed to Russian media by Aleksey Klimov, the head of the Consular Department of the Russian Foreign Ministry.

The three countries on Russia’s radar regarding this plan include South Sudan, Niger and Sierra Leone.

“Activities aimed at increasing the representation of Russian diplomacy and expanding the consular presence in friendly countries are being carried out on an ongoing basis. The possibility of opening diplomatic missions in South Sudan, Niger, and Sierra Leone in the perspective is being analyzed,” the diplomat noted.

He added that a similar mission to open embassies in Burkina Faso and Equatorial Guinea has already been taken and agreed upon with the authorities in the host nations. Other non-African countries in this boat, according to the report include Armenia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Indonesia, and Maldives.

Following the Cold War’s conclusion, Russia’s lack of interest in the country led to the closure of the embassy in 1992.

The most recent meeting of military authorities from Burkina Faso and Russia took place in Moscow in November of last year, when Burkina Faso’s defense minister, Col. Kassoum Coulibaly, met with his Russian counterpart, Sergei Shoigu.

Very recently, the Russian capital, Moscow inaugurated the House of Africa, Russia’s central platform for diplomatic, business, and cultural activities aimed at developing Russian-African relations.

The House of Africa is intended for Russian round table sessions, forums, and large meetings with delegations from Africa. The director also disclosed that Russian businesses interested in Africa will be able to obtain essential information from the center.

Latest news
Related news